Coins and Medals Department, Pushkin
Отдел Коллекция Проекты Научная работа отдела Библиотека События Партнеры Меценаты

XIV International Numismatic Congress (Glasgow, 31.08-04.09)


The XIV International Numismatic CongressThe XIV International Numismatic Congress was being held in Glasgow (31st August and Friday - 4th September 2009). It was organised by the Hunter Coin Cabinet of the Hunterian Museum and Art Gallery, at the University of Glasgow with the collaboration of the International Numismatic Commission.

The Congress was being held at the University of Glasgow located in one of the liveliest and most cosmopolitan cities in Europe. The Hunterian is the oldest public museum in Scotland and is to be found in the magnificent Main Building of the University, designed in Gothic style by Sir George Gilbert Scott. Situated in the west end of Glasgow, a short distance from the city centre, the University is one of the city's best known landmarks.

The programm included nine broad sections:

Antiquity: Greek
Antiquity: Roman
Antiquity: Celtic
Antiquity: General
Medieval, Western
Modern, Western
Oriental and African
General Numismatics


During the Congress the Survey of Numismatic Research (2002-2007) was published, together with the medal commemorating the XIV International Numismatic Congress.

The International Numismatic Council was founded in 1934 as International Numismatic Commission «to facilitate cooperation between scholars and between institutions in the field of numismatics and related disciplines». In 2009, it has changed its name into International Numismatic Council / Conseil international de numismatique.

The Council has now about 160 members from 38 countries. These include museums, university institutes, numismatic societies and mints.

Its activities are coordinated by a Committee of nine members elected by representatives of member institutions at the International Numismatic Congress. The current Council was elected at Glasgow in 2009.

Committee of the INC 2009-2015/ Bureau du CIN 2009-2015

President / Présidente
Dr. Carmen Arnold-Biucchi
Harvard University Art Museums, Arthur M. Sackler Museum
Dept. of Ancient and Byzantine Art and Numismatics
485 Broadway, Cambridge, MA 02138 (USA)

Vice-President / Vice-président
Dr. Donal Bateson
(International Numismatic Congress Glasgow 2009)
Coin Cabinet, Hunterian Museum, Glasgow University
Glasgow G12 8QQ (United Kingdom)

Vice-President / Vice-Président
Benedikt Zäch
(Editor International Electronic e-News INeN)
Münzkabinett und Antikensammlung der Stadt Winterthur
Villa Bühler, Lindstrasse 8, Postfach, CH-8402 Winterthur (Schweiz / Suisse / Svizzera)

Secretary / Secrétaire
HR Dr. Michael Alram
Münzkabinett, Kunsthistorisches Museum Wien
Burgring 5, A-1010 Wien (Österreich / Austria)

Treasurer / Trésorier
Dr. Tuukka Talvio
Coin Cabinet, National Museum of Finland
P.O. Box 913, FL-00101 Helsinki (Suomi / Finland)

Committee members / Membres du comité

Prof. Maria Caccamo Caltabiano
(International Numismatic Congresss Taormina 2015)
Catedra di numismatica greca e romana, Facoltà di Lettere e Filosofia, Università degli Studi di Messina
Polo Annunziata, I-98168 Messina (Italia / Italy)

Dr Sylviane Estiot
(Editor International Numismatic Newsletter INN)
Histoire et Sources des Mondes antiques
Maison de l'Orient et de la Méditerranée
7, rue Raulin, F-69365 Lyon cedex 07 (France)

Prof. Pere Pau Ripollès
(Sylloge Nummorum Graecorum)
Departament de Prehistòria i Arqueologia, Universitat de València Blasco Ibáñez 28, E-46010 València (España / Spain)

Dr. Bernward Ziegaus

(Editor Website INC)

Archäologische Staatssammlung

Lerchenfeldstrasse 2, D-80538 München (Deutschland / Germany)

For details: Website of the International N,umismatic Commission: